Thrive Federation of Special Schools

The Federation was formed out of a desire to work closely with other schools and to maximise the potential of sharing expertise, experience and resources to benefit students and staff in the four schools. Regular opportunities for shared INSET days, the potential to share costs of specialist staff/resources, etc and the opportunity for Headteachers to work closely together are very beneficial.

The Thrive Federation of Special School includes

  • Cornfield School provides education for 9-16 year olds with Social, Emotional and Mental Health needs as a primary need and is led by Mrs M Davis as Headteacher
  • Herons Dale School provides education for 4-11 year olds in a generic primary special school environment and is led by Isabel Robson as Headteacher
  • Oak Grove College provides education for 11-19 year olds in a generic secondary special school environment and is led by Phillip Potter as Headteacher
  • Palatine Primary School provides education for 4-11 year old in a generic primary special school environment and is led by Catriona Goldsmith as Headteacher

The aim of the Thrive Federation is to ensure all of our young people from 4- 19 years of age can benefit from “Learning without limits”.

There are a number of policies that apply across all four schools and other policies are operated at a school level.

The Oak Grove College Governing Body


The Oak Grove Governing Body is the legal Governing Body which includes the Head, a Staff Governor and two Parent Governors. It meets at least once each term. The Governing Body is legally bound by agreed Statutory Responsibilities and Terms of Reference.

The college has its own DFE number and budget.

The college works closely with the Chairs and Heads from the Governing Bodies from the other three schools within the Federation on a number of projects. These include staff development and training and working with/influencing the Local Authority and the nation Special Schools agenda.

Chrissie Chalmers Chair of OGC Governing Body
Ann Scheriner Vice Chair of OGC Governing Body/Parent Governor
Phillip Potter Headteacher Governor
Ross McKay Staff/Health and Safety Governor
Caroline Nicholls Local Authority/Safeguarding Governor
Julie Luckin Parent Governor
Liz Cooke Co-opted/Children Looked After & Pupil Premium Governor (Summer Term 2021 only)
Cathy Cremer Co-opted Governor
Matt Young Co-opted Governor/Website
Raye Mills Co-opted Governor (Summer Term 2021 only)
Rebecca Tonks Co-opted Governonr (Summer 2021 only)
Lisa Sadler Clerk


Contact the OGC Governing Body

For any queries about the Governing Body, please contact Lisa Sadler, the Clerk –


Joint Strategic Commitee of the Thrive Federation

Below are the details of the members of the Joinr Strategic Commitee for the Thrive Federation


Governing Body of Oak Grove College


Below are the details of members of the Governing Body for Oak Grove College and a record of their attendance:

Skip to content